A New Facebook Privacy Setting

A new Facebook privacy setting called “Instant Personalization” has been rolled out.

In other words, Facebook will be sharing your personal information with external websites under the auspices of an enhanced user experience. What’s worse is this new setting is rolled out as “Enabled” automatically.

If that works for you, then no need to change anything. However, if it’s not agreeable with you to have Facebook share your data with non-Facebook sites then go to your account now and walk through these quick steps below before your personal information is shared with the universe.

Go to:

Account >

Privacy Settings >

Apps & Websites >

Instant Personalization >

Edit settings and uncheck “Enable instant personalisation on partner websites”

Warning – If your friends don’t do this, they will be sharing info about you as well, so make sure you give everyone you know a heads up.

If you want to understand more about this new setting, I found a great article on the subject. [Read more]

It’s unfortunate these settings are not rolled out as “Disabled” with an invitation from Facebook for those who want a richer and more enhanced user experience while visiting other sites. Maybe I’ll save that idea for that imaginary website my mom keeps referring to as BookSpace.

Leave a Reply